Is Grey Goose Gluten Free? (Types + Other Common FAQs)

Grey Goose Vodka is known for using high-quality French ingredients in all Grey Goose products. However, this doesn’t guarantee that everyone can drink Grey Goose Vodka.

People with gluten-related issues need extra assurance, which is why it’s important to determine whether Grey Goose is gluten-free. Here is what I found!

Is Grey Goose Gluten-Free?

Grey Goose Vodka is gluten-free despite using wheat as a base ingredient. With the TTB’s revisions on gluten-free classifications, grain-based vodkas like Grey Goose can now be labeled as gluten-free. Moreover, Grey Goose uses real fruits that naturally contain no gluten to flavor Grey Goose vodkas. Moreover, Grey Goose actively prevents gluten contamination in their products.

If you want to learn more about Grey Goose’s gluten-free classification, which Grey Goose flavored vodkas are gluten-free, and what ingredients Grey Goose uses, keep on reading!

Is All Grey Goose Vodka Gluten-Free?

Grey Goose Vodka is considered a gluten-free product based on the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau’s latest gluten content statements.

As per the TTB’s revision, spirits are allowed to be labeled as “gluten-free” even if the spirits are grain-based and as long as the distiller protects their products from gluten contamination.

With Grey Goose complying with this regulation, Grey Goose has posted on their website that Grey Goose products are gluten-free.

Moreover, Grey Goose distills their wheat-derived ethanol thoroughly and filters Grey Goose vodka through cellulose and carbon pads, eliminating any gluten in vodka.

Nonetheless, some websites dedicated to celiacs advise that celiac sufferers should still practice caution because some people have gotten a reaction from grain-based vodkas.

Is Grey Goose Le Citron Gluten-Free?

Grey Goose Le Citron is considered gluten-free and is made from Grey Goose Vodka with lemon essential oils from lemons harvested in the Menton region of France.

Additionally, lemon is gluten-free, and Grey Goose’s compliance with the TTB ensures that Grey Goose takes measures to prevent lemon extracts from gluten contamination.

Is Grey Goose Pear Vodka Gluten-Free?

Is Grey Goose Pear Vodka Gluten-Free?

Grey Goose Pear Vodka, more popularly known as Grey Goose La Poire Flavored Vodka, is gluten-free.

Just like the classic Grey Goose Vodka, Grey Goose La Poire is made from Picardie winter wheat and water from a well in Gensac-La-Pallue in Champagne, France.

To flavor the Grey Goose spirit, Anjou pears from the Loire Valley in Central France are used. Moreover, pears are naturally gluten-free.

Since Grey Goose uses all-natural ingredients, no processed foodstuff containing gluten has contaminated the pears they use.

Is Grey Goose Orange Gluten-Free?

Grey Goose Orange Vodka, also known as Grey Goose L’Orange Flavored vodka, is gluten-free and is made from French water, winter wheat, and real oranges.

Unlike other Grey Goose vodkas, L’Orange uses oranges from Florida instead of France. Essential oils are extracted from the orange and added to Grey Goose vodka.

Moreover, oranges are gluten-free, which means that Grey Goose L’Orange is safe for celiacs even if the vodka is not filtered after being infused with orange extracts.

Is Grey Goose Cherry Noir Gluten-Free?

Grey Goose Cherry Noir is gluten-free. Like the staple Grey Goose Vodka, Grey Goose Cherry Noir is made from Picardie winter wheat and water sourced from Gensac-La-Pallue.

Afterward, the vodka is flavored with black cherries harvested from Itxassou, which is a village in the French Basque Country.

Black cherries contain no gluten, making black cherries safe additives for celiacs to consume.

Is Grey Goose Essences Gluten-Free?

Grey Goose Essences is gluten-free, and this Grey Goose flavored vodka line is made up of Grey Goose Strawberry & Lemongrass, Peach & Rosemary, and Watermelon & Basil.

Similar to other Grey Goose L’Orange, La Poire, and Le Citron, the Essences line is made from French winter wheat, spring water, and fresh fruits.

However, the botanicals used to create Grey Goose essences are sourced not only in France, but also in countries like Thailand, Sri Lanka, and Spain.

These botanicals, which may consist of herbs, spices, and other plant parts, are gluten-free since Grey Goose designed their Essences line with that intention.

Why Is Grey Goose Vodka Not Gluten-Free?

While Grey Goose Vodka is officially classified as gluten-free, some people insist that Grey Goose vodka is not because Grey Goose and similar vodkas use wheat as their base ingredient.

However, Grey Goose undergoes a thorough distillation and filtration which removes all the gluten-proteins derived from the wheat, making Grey Goose vodka gluten-free.

Take a look at our related articles to learn if vodka is wine, if vodka is made from wheat, and a list of vodka made from potatoes.


Grey Goose vodka may be made from winter wheat, which naturally contains gluten, but Grey Goose vodka is classified as gluten-free by America’s Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau.

Even though Grey Goose is distilled only once, Grey Goose’s distillation process has five steps and uses completely gluten-free ingredients, meaning Grey Goose vodka is gluten-free.

Leave a Comment