Ketel One is a Dutch vodka that is known for its grainy sweetness and soft texture, making it one of the most popular vodkas for cocktail mixing.
If you’ve been using it to whip up a Moscow Mule or you’re thinking of adding it to your bar, you’ll want to know what Ketel One Vodka is made from. Here’s what I discovered!
What Is Ketel One Vodka Made From?
Ketel One Vodka is made from 100% non-GMO winter wheat that is sourced from Holland. Unlike other brands, Ketel One does not disclose the type of water they use. Additionally, Ketel One is triple distilled using a combination of modern column stills and traditional copper pot stills.
If this Dutch vodka has piqued your curiosity and you want to learn all there is about it, keep on reading!
Is Ketel One Grain Or Potato?
Ketel One Vodka is made from grain, specifically non-GMO winter wheat, not potatoes. As such, it is naturally less oily and has a lighter flavor than potato-based vodkas.
Additionally, Ketel One did not transition from using potatoes to grain. They have used winter wheat to make their vodka ever since they launched.
Is Ketel One Made From Corn?
Ketel One is made from winter wheat, not corn. However, since both are grains, they may produce vodkas with similar sweet notes, but they generally produce little to no flavor.
Is Ketel One Vodka Triple Distilled?
Ketel One Vodka is triple distilled to purify the ethanol derived from fermented wheat and to increase its ABV.
Moreover, Ketel One distills their vodka through a combination of column stills and copper pot stills, which is an unusual choice since pot stills are typically used to make gin.
Nonetheless, Ketel One believes that it’s this choice, alongside triple distilling their vodkas, that gives their vodka its unique character.
Is Ketel One Vodka Or Gin?
Ketel One is a vodka, not a gin. Just like traditional vodkas, it is distilled to reach a minimum alcohol by volume (ABV) of 40% and possesses a neutral flavor profile.
In contrast, gin is made by distilling a neutral spirit with juniper berries and selected herbs.
While Ketel One Botanical may be likened to gin, it cannot be classified as one because it does not contain the essence of juniper berries which is integral in making gin.
Additionally, the Nolet family released their first gin products, namely Nolet’s Silver and Nolet’s Reserve, but they aren’t under the Ketel One brand.
Is Ketel One Vodka Gluten-Free?
Ketel One Vodka is gluten-free and safe for celiacs and those watching their gluten intake to consume.
Since Ketel One Vodka is made from wheat, it is initially not gluten-free. However, the distillation process succeeds in eliminating all gluten proteins from the vodka.
Is Ketel One Vodka Vegan?
Ketel One Vodka is vegan-friendly. Apart from being distilled with non-GMO winter wheat and yeast, unflavored and flavored Ketel One Vodkas do not contain animal products.
Moreover, Ketel One confirmed that they are cruelty-free, meaning they do not test their products on animals. They also use flavoring that is free of dairy and gelatin.
As for their charcoal filtration process, Ketel One disclosed that they do not use animal bone for charcoal or any animal products throughout their distillation and bottling process.
Furthermore, Ketel One checked their Citroen product and verified that both the raw ingredients used and the manufacturing process are completely vegan-friendly.
Is Ketel One Organic?
Ketel One does not claim that its vodka is organic.
Although it is made from non-GMO winter wheat, that does not automatically make Ketel One Vodka organic.
While a non-GMO grain is not genetically altered, it can still be contaminated with chemicals that are used in conventional food production.
Is Ketel One Keto?
Ketel One Vodka is considered keto-friendly because it contains no carbs. Similarly, Ketel One Botanical has no carbs, making it suitable for ketogenic diets.
Is Ketel One Kosher?
Regular Ketel One Vodka is considered Kosher even though it has not been certified. However, since it’s made from wheat, it’s not suitable for Passover.
As for Ketel One Botanical, there’s still no confirmation about whether it can be considered Kosher.
How Many Calories Does Ketel One Vodka Have?
Ketel One unflavored vodka contains 97 calories per 1.5 ounces.
On the other hand, Ketel One Botanical has 73 calories per 1.5 ounces, which is significantly lower than regular Ketel One Vodka. This is due to the Botanical variety’s lower alcohol content.
While regular Ketel One Vodka has 40% ABV, Ketel One Botanical clocks in at just 30% ABV. Moreover, it is naturally flavored, hence the low calorie count.
What Is Ketel One Botanicals Made From?
Ketel One Botanicals is made from Ketel One Vodka and essential oils derived from fruits and herbs.
For reasons of confidentiality, the Nolet Family which founded Ketel One Vodka does not disclose their botanical recipe.
Unlike most flavored vodkas, Ketel One re-distills Ketel One Vodka with the fruit and herbal essential oils they add in order to achieve a smoother flavor.
In fact, Ketel One maintains that their Botanical vodka products cannot be officially classified as flavored vodka because of their two-tier production process that’s similar to how gin is made.
Apart from distilling their vodkas after they have been infused with essential oils, they are flavored again before bottling.
If you want to learn more about vodka, you can see our related posts on what Deep Eddy Vodka is made from, what New Amsterdam Vodka is made from, and what Pinnacle Vodka is made from.
Ketel One Vodka is produced from non-GMO winter wheat harvested in Holland and does not use animal products, making it vegan-friendly.
Ketel One Botanical, too, is considered vegan-friendly because there is no use of animal products or by-products in the flavoring and the manufacturing process it undergoes.
Moreover, Ketel One is gluten-free in spite of being made from wheat, and regular Ketel One is considered Kosher.