People with soy sensitivities and allergies must be careful of what they eat since many foods could have some form of soy, which can include condiments like mayonnaise.
If you are sensitive to soy, you may be wondering if mayonnaise has soy. I checked out the facts, and here is what I found!
Does Mayonnaise Have Soy?
Mayonnaise does not generally contain soy because mayonnaise contains refined oils, such as refined soybean oil. When the soybean oil is refined, the soy protein that would otherwise harm people with soy allergies is removed. However, certain brands of mayonnaise may use unrefined soybean oil or soy protein in their mayonnaise products.
Do you want to learn more about mayonnaise’s ingredients and what ingredients in mayonnaise could have soy? Keep reading!
What Ingredients Are In Mayonnaise?
Generally, a traditional mayonnaise recipe includes egg yolks, oil, and a type of acid, such as lemon juice or vinegar.
Other recipes or manufacturers may opt to add several types of oils, whole eggs, spices, etc. to make their mayonnaise unique.
However, it is very common for mayonnaise recipes to call for neutral oil because mayonnaise should taste fairly mild, meaning neutral oils work best in mayonnaise recipes.
What Kind Of Oil Does Mayonnaise Need?
Typically, mayonnaise recipes called for neutral and refined oils since mayonnaise is meant to have a very mild flavor.
Some examples of oils that mayonnaise recipes use are grapeseed oil, avocado oil, canola oil, soybean oil, light olive oil, safflower oil, sunflower oil, and blended oil, which is a mixture of vegetable oil and olive oil.
Normally, you can use a single type of oil to make mayonnaise, but some mayonnaise recipes opt to use two or more kinds of oils.
For instance, you can use olive oil and soybean oil in the same mayonnaise recipe, but you may not taste that much of a difference.
Does Mayonnaise Contain Soybean Oil?
Some mayonnaise brands and recipes use soybean oil to create their mayonnaise products, and some examples of brands that use soybean oil include Hellman’s mayonnaise, Duke’s mayonnaise, and Kraft mayonnaise.
Additionally, many of the commercial brands of mayonnaise prefer using soybean oil because soybean oil is easy to access and is one of the most affordable neutral oils available.
Will Soybean Oil Affect People Sensitive To Soy?
Typically, most mayonnaise recipes use highly refined soybean oil for their mayonnaise products.
Normally, highly refined soybean oil may not harm people with soy allergies because highly refined soybean oil does not contain soy protein that would otherwise cause a reaction in people with soy allergies.
Additionally, mayonnaise that contains soy lecithin may also be fine for people with soy allergies to consume since soy lecithin does not have soy protein.
However, it is generally best to avoid any product that says “may contain soy” or “contains soy” if you have a soy allergy.
Moreover, some vegan alternatives to mayonnaise, such as Vegenaise, contain soy protein, which can harm people with soy allergies.
Can People Sensitive To Soy Eat Mayonnaise With Soybean Oil?
People who are sensitive to soy may eat mayonnaise that contains soybean oil given that the soybean oil is highly refined.
If the soybean oil is not refined, there could still be soy proteins in the soybean oil used to make the mayonnaise.
Does Mayonnaise Contain Soy Oil?
Soy oil is simply another name for soybean oil, so mayonnaise can contain soy oil if the ingredients list contains soy oil or soybean oil.
However, many brands can use other forms of oil as a base for mayonnaise, but most manufacturers will opt for a neutral-tasting oil.
Since soy oil is a neutral oil and is very affordable, many manufacturers prefer to use soybean oil as their choice of oil for mayonnaise.
Does Just Mayo Contain Soy?
Just Mayo has stated that they do not use soy products to create Just Mayo, making Just Mayo a soy-free mayonnaise alternative.
Moreover, representatives of Just Mayo have said that they thoroughly clean equipment and test every batch of their products for possible allergens before distribution.
Does Hellman’s Vegan Mayonnaise Contain Soy?
Hellman’s Vegan Mayonnaise contains soybean oil, and Hellman’s has not confirmed whether the soybean they use is refined, so it is unknown if Hellman’s Vegan Mayonnaise truly contains soy or not.
Does Vegenaise Contain Soy?
Regularly Vegenaise does contain soy because Vegenaise contains soy protein, and Vegenaise uses soy protein to make up for the fact that there are no eggs in the mayonnaise recipe.
However, the same brand has created a soy-free alternative called Soy-Free Vegenaise, which uses pea protein instead of soy protein.
Does Miracle Whip Contain Soy?
Technically, Miracle Whip does contain soy because Miracle Whip contains soybean oil, but Miracle Whip has not confirmed if they use highly refined soybean oil to make Miracle Whip.
Therefore, it is unknown if Miracle Whip truly contains soy because Miracle Whip needs to first confirm if their soybean oil is refined.
How Can I Tell If My Mayonnaise Has Soy?
Generally, the best way to ensure that your mayonnaise has soy or not is by checking the label since most products are required to state if a product contains soy since some manufacturers create different food products with the same equipment.
Normally, you can see if the mayonnaise contains soy under the ingredients list, where most manufacturers will state “may contain soy” or “contains soy.”
If you are sensitive or allergic to soy, it is best to be wary of vegan mayonnaise since many vegan products add some form of soy.
Take a look at our other articles to discover if mayonnaise has carbs, if mayonnaise has vinegar, and if mayonnaise freezes.
Typically, mayonnaise is a soy-free condiment, but mayonnaise containing soy will mostly depend on what ingredients were used to make mayonnaise.
Mayonnaise often contains soybean oil, but mayonnaise with soybean oil is safe for most people with soy allergies to eat given that the soybean oil is highly refined to remove the soy protein.