Does Mayonnaise Have Gluten? + Other Related FAQs

People who are sensitive or allergic to gluten know that they need to be careful about all the foods they eat including condiments since you never know what foods may contain gluten.

One food you may be unsure about is mayonnaise because you may not know if mayonnaise has gluten. I looked up the facts, and here is what I found!

Does Mayonnaise Have Gluten?

Generally, traditional mayonnaise is a naturally gluten-free product since most mayonnaise recipes do not call for gluten-containing ingredients. Most mayonnaise recipes contain eggs, oil, and a type of acid, which are all gluten-free. However, some mayonnaise brands add gluten-containing ingredients or create mayonnaise where gluten-containing products are also made. Therefore, check the label to see if your mayonnaise is gluten-free.

Do you want to learn more facts about mayonnaise and gluten? Keep reading to find out!

What Ingredients Are In Mayonnaise?

Most basic mayonnaise recipes contain two main ingredients, which are eggs and oil, but many of these recipes will also call for an acid, such as vinegar or lemon juice.

Eggs, oil, and acid are crucial ingredients to make mayonnaise because mayonnaise is an emulsion, meaning ingredients that would not normally mix (like liquid acids and oils) are combined.

In most cases, most mayonnaise recipes will not call for more ingredients other than spices and herbs in mayonnaise, making mayonnaise generally a gluten-free sauce.

Is Mayonnaise Naturally Gluten-Free?

Generally, mayonnaise is considered naturally gluten-free since none of the ingredients used to make most mayonnaises contain gluten.

However, this only applies to traditional mayonnaise recipes where the main ingredients include eggs, oil, and lemon juice or vinegar.

Moreover, mayonnaise can be naturally gluten-free but could become contaminated with gluten if the manufacturer produces mayonnaise in a factory that also creates gluten-containing products.

Why Does Mayonnaise Not Have Gluten?

Mayonnaise does not have gluten because gluten-containing ingredients are not needed to create mayonnaise’s thick and creamy texture.

For instance, flour is commonly used to make bread, and when mixing flour into liquids such as soup, the liquid becomes thicker.

In the case of mayonnaise, mayonnaise is an emulsion that forms by mixing ingredients that would not normally combine with the help of an emulsifying ingredient.

For example, mayonnaise’s oil and vinegar would not typically mix, but when an egg is added the egg will allow the oil and vinegar to combine since the egg works as an emulsifier.

Since eggs will help the oil and vinegar combine while making the mayonnaise thicker, gluten-based ingredients like flour are not needed.

Moreover, adding gluten-based ingredients like cornstarch or flour may change the texture of mayonnaise, making the mayonnaise heavier.

Mayonnaise should have a thick yet somewhat light texture, so adding gluten ingredients would only weigh the mayonnaise down.

Is Hellman’s Mayonnaise Naturally Gluten-Free?

Hellman’s mayonnaise is a naturally gluten-free mayonnaise since Hellman’s does not add any gluten-containing ingredients nor does Hellman’s create their mayonnaise products in factories that have gluten-containing products.

What Mayonnaise Brands Have Gluten?

What Mayonnaise Brands Have Gluten?

Almost all commercial brands of mayonnaise are gluten-free, so there are little to no mayonnaise brands that have gluten.

However, it would be best to check vegan and egg-free mayonnaise brands since some of them may contain gluten to make up for the lack of eggs in the mayonnaise recipe.

Can Coeliacs Eat Mayonnaise?

Coeliacs, or people with gluten sensitives, can eat most types of mayonnaise since almost all recipes and all brands of mayonnaise are naturally gluten-free.

While certain mayonnaises may contain trace amounts of gluten, some coeliacs may be able to tolerate the amount, but it would still be best to opt for completely gluten-free mayonnaise brands.

Can People With Celiac Disease Eat Mayonnaise?

Any type of true mayonnaise is safe for people with celiac disease to consume since there are no gluten-containing ingredients.

However, people with celiac disease should always check the mayonnaise label to see if the mayonnaise is a certified gluten-free product.

Is Duke’s Mayonnaise Gluten-Free?

Duke’s Mayonnaise is gluten-free because Duke’s Mayonnaise does not require any gluten-containing ingredients for their mayonnaise products.

Is Blue Plate’s Mayonnaise Gluten-Free?

According to Blue Plate’s Mayonnaise ingredients list, there are no ingredients in Blue Plate Mayonnaise that would suggest it contains gluten.

However, Blue Plate does not state whether their mayonnaise products are gluten-free, so it is uncertain if Blue Plate Mayonnaise is manufactured in places where gluten-based products are made.

Is Nola Mayonnaise Gluten-Free?

Similar to Blue Plate Mayonnaise, Nola Mayonnaise’s ingredients do not have any gluten-containing ingredients. However, Nola Mayonnaise does not explicitly state if their mayonnaise is gluten-free.

Is Subway’s Mayonnaise Gluten-Free?

Based on Subway’s mayonnaise ingredients list, Subway’s mayonnaise is gluten-free, but Subway itself does not state if Subway mayonnaise is free of gluten.

Is McDonald’s Mayonnaise Gluten-Free?

McDonald’s does not state if their mayonnaise is gluten-free, but based on the ingredients list available online McDonald’s mayonnaise is likely gluten-free, but it is still uncertain.

Is Nando’s Mayonnaise Gluten-Free?

Nando’s mayonnaise, otherwise known as Perinaise, is certified to be gluten-free, and this includes both the Nando’s mayonnaise sold in stores and served in Nando’s branches.

Is Vegenaise Gluten-Free?

While Vegenaise is soy-based mayonnaise and does not contain eggs, Vegenaise is still a gluten-free mayonnaise substitute.

Is Miracle Whip Gluten-Free?

Regular Miracle Whip is gluten-free, but the light version of Miracle Whip may contain some gluten since light Miracle Whip contains modified food starch.

Take a look at our other articles to discover if mayonnaise has soy, if mayonnaise has fat, and if mayonnaise has garlic.


Almost all types of mayonnaise recipes and brands are naturally gluten-free since mayonnaise’s core ingredients are eggs, oil, and a type of acid.

It is still best to check the mayonnaise’s label to see if there are traces of gluten since some companies may make their mayonnaise products in factories where other gluten-containing products are made.

Leave a Comment